Back to search

Barry Alvarez


Barry Lee Alvarez

Inducted 2010

Date of Birth



Langeloth, PA


University of Wisconsin (1990-2005)

University of Wisconsin (2014-2014)

University of Wisconsin (2012-2012)


The first coach in Big Ten history to win back-to-back Rose Bowls, Barry Alvarez compiled a 118-74-4 record while at Wisconsin and captured three Big Ten Championships. When he retired, he and College Football Hall of Fame coach Woody Hayes were the only two Big Ten coaches to win three Rose Bowls. He coached 12 first-team All-America players, including three-time first-team selection and 1999 Heisman Trophy winner Ron Dayne, 62 first-team All-Big Ten picks, and two NFF National Scholar-Athletes (Jim Leonhard and Joe Thomas). In 1993, Alvarez was named Bobby Dodd National Coach of the Year, AFCA National Coach of the Year and College & Pro Football Newsweekly National Coach of the Year. The 2001 Victor Award (National Coach of the Year) winner, Alvarez was a finalist for ESPN National College Coach of the Decade. Named Wisconsin’s athletics director in 2004, Alvarez continued to coach for two years before retiring from the sidelines and focusing solely on his administrative position. In 2012, he coached the Badgers in the 2013 Rose Bowl and in the 2014 Outback Bowl. Alvarez served on the NCAA Football Issues Committee, the Board of Directors of the MACC Fund and was appointed as one of the chairs of the NCAA’s Football Academic Enhancement Group.


Wins 119

Losses 74

Ties 4

Career Highlights

  • 1993 Dodd Coach of the Year winner
Icon Tickets

Secure your tickets now and be apart of the legacy. Don’t miss the chance to experience greatness firsthand!

Icon Membership

Unlock exclusive access and be part of something legendary. Join our community and enjoy premium benefits today!

Icon Shop

Take a piece of greatness home. Shop our exclusive collection of themed items and preserve the legacy in your own way!