Back to search

Zach Wiegert

Offensive Tackle

Zachary Allen Wiegert

Inducted 2022

Date of Birth



Fremont, NE


University of Nebraska (1991-1994)


The anchor of some of Nebraska's dominant teams of the 1990s, Zach Wiegert capped his collegiate career helping the Huskers win a national title. The Fremont, Nebraska, native is the 20th player in school history elected to the College Football Hall of Fame. Wiegert was a unanimous First Team All-American in 1994 and received the Outland Trophy after helping Nebraska to a perfect 13-0 national championship season and the NCAA rushing title. In 1993, he was a finalist for the Outland Trophy after leading the Huskers to an 11-1 record, the No. 3 final ranking and a berth in the Orange Bowl for the national title. The three-time First Team All-Big Eight selection led Nebraska to four conference titles and two other top 15 national finishes in 1991 (No. 15) and 1992 (No. 14). Wiegert's other honors include being named the 1994 TD Club of Columbus Offensive Lineman of the Year, the 1994 UPI Lineman of the Year, 1993 Second Team All-American and 1992 First Team Sophomore All-American. He was named the ABC Chevrolet Player of the Game following the Huskers' 1994 win over UCLA in which he helped the team rush for 340 yards. Wiegert cleared paths for three 1,000-yard rushers during his career, and he allowed only one sack in 37 starts. In 1994 alone, he recorded 113 pancake blocks. Wiegert played for College Football Hall of Fame Coach Tom Osborne and alongside five other Hall of Famers at Nebraska: Trev Alberts, Tommie Frazier, Will Shields, Aaron Taylor, and Grant Wistrom. Wiegert started 137 NFL games during his twelve-year career. He has served, or is currently serving, on many non-profit boards, and he has chaired events for The Salvation Army, The United Way, The Omaha North Magnet STEM School, The Boy Scouts of America, and The Teammates Foundation.


Height 6'5"

Weight 309

Career Highlights

  • 1994 First Team All-America
  • 1994 First Team All-Big Eight
  • 1994 Outland Trophy Award Winner
  • 1994 UPI Offensive Lineman of the Year
  • 1993 First Team All-Big Eight
  • 1993 Second Team All-America
  • 1992 First Team All-Big Eight
Icon Tickets

Secure your tickets now and be apart of the legacy. Don’t miss the chance to experience greatness firsthand!

Icon Membership

Unlock exclusive access and be part of something legendary. Join our community and enjoy premium benefits today!

Icon Shop

Take a piece of greatness home. Shop our exclusive collection of themed items and preserve the legacy in your own way!