Back to search

Dick MacPherson


Richard MacPherson

Inducted 2009

Date of Birth



Old Town, ME


Syracuse University (1981-1990)

University of Massachusetts (1971-1977)


Named NCAA National Coach of the Year in 1987, Coach Dick MacPherson led Syracuse to an 11-0-1 record and the fourth spot in the final rankings. Named head coach at Massachusetts in 1971, MacPherson led the Minutemen to four Yankee Conference titles in seven years. During that span, he twice claimed New England Football Coach of the Year honors. His 45 victories at Massachusetts placed him third all-time in school history, and his 28-8-1 mark in Yankee Conference games notches a .778 winning percentage, which put him fifth in league history. The first UMass coach to win eight or more games in three different seasons, his nine-win campaign in 1972 tied the school record for single-season victories first set in 1901. After his success with the Minutemen, Syracuse gave him their head job in 1981. MacPherson ranked third all-time at Syracuse for wins (66) and most seasons coached (10). During his tenure as head coach he led the Orange to five bowl games while posting a 3-1-1 record in post-season play. In 1987, the Orange posted an 11-0-1 record, playing Auburn to a 16-16 tie in the Sugar Bowl. He coached two College Football Hall of Fame players, Tim Greene and Don McPherson, eight All-Americans, two NFF National Scholar-Athletes during his ten years at Syracuse.


Wins 111

Losses 73

Ties 5

Career Highlights

  • 1987 Dodd Coach of the Year winner
Icon Tickets

Secure your tickets now and be apart of the legacy. Don’t miss the chance to experience greatness firsthand!

Icon Membership

Unlock exclusive access and be part of something legendary. Join our community and enjoy premium benefits today!

Icon Shop

Take a piece of greatness home. Shop our exclusive collection of themed items and preserve the legacy in your own way!